Poem – Requiem for a walking companion


If i could sing,

I would put to music these words,

my lost companion.

It seems so sad

that I lost you when finally

I had committed

to a steady relationship

the past few weeks with you.

I was finally enjoying

the long walks we would take,

listening to lovelorn music

on my iPod.

Each morning

I was appreciating

the sweaty action in my bedroom,

moving

at a steady pace,

pumping,

panting,

sweating

(although not really getting anywhere.)

I was finally

feeling good about myself

and how healthy i was to become

how people had noticed a glow

and a spring in my step.

Then

this morning

after 25 minutes

of sweaty action

you stopped!

You made an awful noise

and could not continue

– much to my frustration.

What am I to do?

I did not commit

to the extended warranty.

I am not good with fixing

motors and moving parts.

I am at a loss without you.

Hmmm.
I wonder if
there are buff and single treadmill repairmen
and
if they make house calls?

TAJ
April 30, 2007

About shewrite63

I am Theresa. I am a Mother and intermittent writer. I published a bittersweet novel under the pen name of Florence T Lyon. I am also a real life survivor, cynic and IT support worker trying to keep up with technological changes. Can't eke a living off of my writing skills - yet!
This entry was posted in Health and wellness. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

