Deep blonde thoughts about mini storage units


This post is recycled from another location with the original title of Hoarding and Mini Storage Trends. 

While I was watching Law and Order on a U.S. station the other night, an
advertisement came on for mini storage units to alleviate consumer
citizens from their overcrowded drawers, closets and garages.  This
confirmed the recent news that there is a trend in American citizens who
rent these units to pack away their excess "stuff".  I am assUmIng the
same applies to Canadians as well. Thinking

I can understand the need for short-term storage when you move to a
smaller house or apartment –  or plan to travel for an extended period
of time (you lucky buggers).   Another need would be to keep extra
furniture and appliances that your offspring may need – once they move
out on their own Wink  Once they move out on their own…

With the exception of heirlooms and archives, I do not wish to get to
the point of having to store "stuff" that neither my family nor I will
need in the near future.  Thankfully, I didn’t buy into the Beanie Baby
craze or other collectibles such as "commemorative plates" or "ethnic
dolls".  If anyone has actually benefited financially from these, I’d
really like to hear about it! 

So, I continue my de-cluttering project by focusing on the bathroom
cupboards and counters.

Related articles and links:

Time Magazine
Hoarding: How Collecting Stuff Can Destroy Your Life
By Kayla Webley Monday, Apr. 26, 2010
http://www.time.com/time/nation/article/0,8599,1984444,00.html

The Story of Stuff  (fun, informative!)
http://www.storyofstuff.com/

City of Ottawa Spring Give Away Weekend – Saturday June 5 and Sunday
June 6 2010
http://www.ottawa.ca/residents/recycling_garbage/giveaway/
"One person’s trash is another person’s treasure. "  If you’re nosy
enough, it will be interesting to see what the neighbours are clearing
out.  Open-mouthed

 

About shewrite63

I am Theresa. I am a Mother and intermittent writer. I published a bittersweet novel under the pen name of Florence T Lyon. I am also a real life survivor, cynic and IT support worker trying to keep up with technological changes. Can't eke a living off of my writing skills - yet!
This entry was posted in Health and wellness. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

