Lazy Holiday Monday


Wow!  It’s already August.

Here in Ottawa, Ontario we are appreciating a long weekend thanks to the Civic Holiday.  For me though it’s an extra day of not being in an air conditioned environment.

I am NOT a summer person.  I don’t do well in the humidity.   The sun is not kind to my fair skin.  One consolation is that it makes my hair blonder – yet leaves a lovely, pink part line on my tender scalp.

The cats do not appreciate the apartment, the heat and not having the freedom of their previous back yard.  Yes, I know that I am projecting the opinions of two brains much smaller than my own.  Sh*t, I have to plant another batch of cat grass seed.  They go through that stuff quickly.  Small pleasures?  Dietary necessity?  The main thing I notice is when they bleh-arphh chunks of it at choice locations on our hardwood floor.

The kids (young adults) think I’m cheap for not springing for air conditioning. “Let’s see how the first summer goes,” I said when we moved here in May.  Well, who would have known the first summer here would be a friggin’ hot and humid one.  Sorry, kids.  If you don’t like it, you can test your wings and take off somewhere else.  The move to a smaller place was, you know, part of my long term evil plan.  Bwa-ha-ha-ha!

I was up at 5:00 a.m. to start on chores before the place became too warm.  My brain, though is repeating the words of Bruno Mars in not wanting to do anything. As the head of the household, that is not exactly an option.  If I were a cat though, it would be my first and likely >^..^< only option.

I would like to take some time to read, finishing Dan Brown’s The Lost Symbol.  I would like to write in my new journal but my left arm sticks to the table.  I’ll have to get a towel to accommodate that annoyance since I also have to finish the homework assignment for a course I am taking. It’s important and I’m paying so I better get to it – after I start the ribs in the slow cooker and finish washing two days’ worth of dishes.

First, I think I’ll just stretch out for a couple of minutes on the cool sheets of my little bed…

You, dear reader can go enjoy some deep blonde thoughts or excerpts from my novel, “The Year of the Rabbit“.

Thanks for visiting.

T

About shewrite63

I am Theresa. I am a Mother and intermittent writer. I published a bittersweet novel under the pen name of Florence T Lyon. I am also a real life survivor, cynic and IT support worker trying to keep up with technological changes. Can't eke a living off of my writing skills - yet!
This entry was posted in Books, Food and drink, Health and wellness, Hobbies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

