An interesting, short piece about the magic of being Receptive as an artist and author. I carry a small jot journal around with me to capture moments, inspirations or curiosities. Most happen during my daily commute in and through Ottawa’s public transportation system. Thank you, Ruth, from an extended family connection :o)

Ruth E. Walker

At a recent meeting of The Writers’ Community of Durham Region, I listened to author Alissa York talk about receptivity. She took us through some of the characters and plot developments in her acclaimed novel, “Fauna” and shared how being receptive helped her find and then refine those characters and the story line.

Receptivity. Being receptive and open to what life hands us. That is, I think, the gift of the artist. And the more receptive and open you are to life’s offerings, the richer your work becomes.

I was in Paris August 2012. Lovely city. A bit on the orderly side (it’s all those buildings being restricted in size, shape, etc., as part of the Haussmann effect) but there were crazy, unscripted bits such as doggy doo left for anyone else to pick up. (It appears that Poop and Scoop is struggling to catch on.)

Paris as seen on…

View original post 206 more words

About shewrite63

I am Theresa. I am a Mother and intermittent writer. I published a bittersweet novel under the pen name of Florence T Lyon. I am also a real life survivor, cynic and IT support worker trying to keep up with technological changes. Can't eke a living off of my writing skills - yet!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

