Can’t avoid being social


I attended a Social Media for Writers workshop yesterday.

Who wouldn’t want to get out of bed early on a Saturday and head out in the February freeze of the Ottawa Valley?

Cats snoozing in window

Two cats snoozing in window shelf

Why did I sacrifice a comfortable Saturday morning that could have been spent relaxing and puttering with my plants in my jammy jams?

Geneva Tiger cat inspecting a new date palm

I needed to attend this workshop as part of my writing group’s research into the world of social media, social networking and helping our organization get with the times.

The workshop was attended by about 30 other fuzzy-eyed and draggy tailed people.  It started late although we were told to arrive early.  Thank goodness there was coffee and Timmy’s treats.  Kudos to the volunteers.

Overall, the workshop was helpful with delivering general terminology with a slide show presentation and handouts.  The instructor was open to questions from the crowd.  I found at times the flow of information was detoured by questions from people who barely understood the basics of web technology.  There were many confused faces in the crowd.  It would have helped to provide a couple of live demos showing Twitter features, especially those confusing hash tags!

My nom de plume Tweeted during the session on her newfangled iPad Mini.  What I found ironic was the social media business I followed on Twitter sent an automated direct message to say hi and ask what interested me in following them.  When I attempted (twice) to reply, Twitter told me that I could not DM them because they did not follow me.  I thought that was a good (bad) example of a #SocialMedia #Fail, using automated tasks to do what a human could do.   But with hundreds or thousands of potential followers, who has the time or money?

Personally, I don’t like using automated services.  I like being in control of my messages, my public image however catty or whimsical it may appear at times.

Geneva Tabby Tail on my journal

How about you?  Do you use services that provide repetitive, automated Tweets?  Do you hop on the coat tails of trending #hashtags to promote your own business or service?  Do you not think it causes too much clutter in the Twittersphere, too many bits and bytes clogging the Internet, that web of #HumanConsciousness?

After Flo tweeted about the workshop including the #SocialMedia hash tag along with #writing and #fiction, she received six new followers.  Most of them were marketing people.  Only a couple were other writers.  That’s a good start, I suppose.

Next, I will chair a committee that will help our organization identify its current web presence, the value to it and its members, then research and recommend what we could be using – within reason.  After that, we will plan on applying these recommendations  in phases over the next year.

It’s a matter of time and money.  Some of that time could be use for writing.  I write because I enjoy it, love to share my reading enjoyment, share a story, or deep blonde thoughts.  I have a pretty good handle on the web and Internet technologies so most of this comes quickly to me (most).

Geneva Tabby on Mac

Some of our members are freelancers and write for a living.    They need to realistically invest valuable hours, minutes or microseconds getting their message out and noticed among the multitude of others.

Thanks for reading my blog post.  Do you have time to submit a comment?  Automated, spammy ones are not allowed.  

Thanks for enduring the cat photos and for not waking the kitteh.  

T

About shewrite63

I am Theresa. I am a Mother and intermittent writer. I published a bittersweet novel under the pen name of Florence T Lyon. I am also a real life survivor, cynic and IT support worker trying to keep up with technological changes. Can't eke a living off of my writing skills - yet!
This entry was posted in Books, Computers and Internet, Organizations. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Can’t avoid being social

  1. Bernadette Cox says:

    I really dislike those automated tweets. And when the marketers decide to follow me, I notice they unfollow me in a couple of weeks, I suppose because I haven’t given them a shoutout or bought anything from them.

    • shewrite63 says:

      Thanks for the comment, Bernadette.

      I wonder if that’s a ploy to get gullible Tweeters to follow them back so they can ramp up their follower numbers.

      Automation may help with saving time and exhibiting “engagement” but may not save face.

      My professional Twitter account requires that followers be approved. It feels good to decline, decline the marketers and social media “experts” :o)

      FloTLyon lets anyone follow her. She doesn’t always follow back unless their profiles are related to writing, reading or the arts.

      T

  2. Pingback: Networks, webs and support groups | Shewrite63

Leave a Reply

