Celebrating Dead Poets During National Poetry Month


So how are you celebrating National Poetry Month?

Can you rub two words together to conjure an image or create a rhyme? I just haven’t had the heart, energy or talent lately.  I have been repressing the past, casting desperately for hopes of the future and treading water in the present.

Waiting for spring and more light.

Received word that a local poet, editor and writing community member recently passed away.  It’s a bit foggy but from the grapevine, this poet died alone with no family, no offspring to claim the remains or arrange a funeral.

Writing friends and a cultural community are banding together to provide emotional and financial support to organize a tribute, a celebration of life, and to ensure a respectful final resting place.

Dark thoughts for a Friday.  Damn.  I understand the fear of dying alone and destitute.  I am making darn sure though that my end of life celebration is already planned.  Maybe it’s a control thing.

Here is something I want to make time to listen the whole way through on CBC Radio:

Eulogies gone wrong
Open lines with a funeral director who has seen and heard it all.
http://www.cbc.ca/player/AudioMobile/Ontario+Today/ID/2446154544/

What words would you want others to use to describe you?  How do you want to be remembered?

T

 

About shewrite63

I am Theresa. I am a Mother and intermittent writer. I published a bittersweet novel under the pen name of Florence T Lyon. I am also a real life survivor, cynic and IT support worker trying to keep up with technological changes. Can't eke a living off of my writing skills - yet!
This entry was posted in Books, Health and wellness, Hobbies and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

