Comfort levels


Miss Geneva thought I deserved a break this weekend.

Tabby cat seeking attention

Miss Geneva says “Rub my belly, human”

In-between catching up on addressing Christmas card envelopes and writing short, meaningful messages, I turned my attention to a different task.

I have been a volunteer with a professional conference the past two years. Due to my introverted tendencies, I prefer to use my talents in organizing things and making sense out of jumbled numbers.  I don’t like being in the middle of all the action, especially if it’s loud and chaotic.

Ironically, I volunteered to organize the post-conference social event – for the second year in a row.  That went very well with plenty of finger food, liquid refreshments and conversation opportunities.

Over the next few weeks, in-between demands from festivities and social events,  I will be in a happy place of working with Excel, transposing ranking numbers and nearly illegible handwriting from dozens more evaluation forms.

My cats provide me with reminders to put things down and enjoy those quiet furry, purry moments. It’s okay to find that comfort zone and curl up in a ball sometimes.

I feel fortunate to have those opportunities.

T

 

About shewrite63

I am Theresa. I am a Mother and intermittent writer. I published a bittersweet novel under the pen name of Florence T Lyon. I am also a real life survivor, cynic and IT support worker trying to keep up with technological changes. Can't eke a living off of my writing skills - yet!
This entry was posted in Computers and Internet, Health and wellness, Organizations, Pets and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Comfort levels

  1. shewrite63 says:

    Reblogged this on Deep Blonde Thoughts and commented:

    Despite Geneva’s attempts to distract me again, I was able to complete my data entry commitment yesterday.
    What else would one be doing on Boxing Day? Visit a factory warehouse outlet along with hundreds of other casual consumers? http://www.cbc.ca/news/canada/ottawa/ottawa-s-tanger-outlet-mall-shooting-victim-uncooperative-with-police-1.2884529 .

    Um, no thanks!

Leave a Reply

