Free Comic Book Day


Comic books could be called the gateway drug to reading novels.

Thanks for the reminder of Free Comic Book Day on May 2nd. I grew up reading older siblings’ superhero comics. My best memories are of reading the Golden Key series. These lured me into exploring the classics.

Our piano teacher would supply those of us waiting for our turns with piles of Archie, Tom and Jerry, etc. comics to pass the time in her back dining room.

The avid reader of my offspring still enjoys visiting comic book stores. Although she possesses two English Lit. degrees, she has returned to her original love of drawing and story telling. She even created a few of her own mini comics: https://gumroad.com/gisele You can read her online comic series for free ANYTIME http://startripcomic.com

Happy days!

T

YOURS IN STORYTELLING...

Free Comic Book Day in Halifax – and all across the world – May 2, 2015

Growing up in a little town called Capreol, about twenty miles north of Sudbury, I came to appreciate a little downtown convenience store called Del Papas.

Only I never called it Del Papas all that often. To me and my brother Dan it was simply “the comic book store”.

They had a whole wall full of comic books and was where I spent a fair bit of my paper route money. I also spent some of my grandmother’s money as well – but I will tell you a little bit more about that later on.

Let me tell you why I dig comic books.

Comic books help teach me how to read.

I would sit and I would pour over my comic book collection any chance that I got. The Hulk, Batman, Swamp Thing…

View original post 577 more words

About shewrite63

I am Theresa. I am a Mother and intermittent writer. I published a bittersweet novel under the pen name of Florence T Lyon. I am also a real life survivor, cynic and IT support worker trying to keep up with technological changes. Can't eke a living off of my writing skills - yet!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Free Comic Book Day

  1. Steve Vernon says:

    Thanks for the re-blog, Theresa.

Leave a Reply

