Indie authors, self-publishing and crowdfunding; oh why?


I am supporting this crowd-funding endeavour for a children’s book about adoption. You can too.

Not My Straitjacket

LLMNOSE

I made the decision to self-publish my children’s book, Loved Like Me after realising several very important things.

  1. No one is going to care about my book as much as I do.
  2. I have the resources at my fingertips to make this happen via the internet and networks IRL.
  3. Agents cost money once the contracts are signed. I do not want to share my profits from this book with anyone besides (possibly) a charity.
  4. This book is not something mainstream and would have been harder to continue to market to publishers.
  5. I have the experience in writing and I have done the research in marketing to know I can make this happen on my own.
  6. I have a supportive family and a talented illustrator, Rob Nicholson, whom has already invested their time supporting my dreams. Support teams are crucial when going it alone and mine is awesome!
  7. On-line publishing takes…

View original post 212 more words

About shewrite63

I am Theresa. I am a Mother and intermittent writer. I published a bittersweet novel under the pen name of Florence T Lyon. I am also a real life survivor, cynic and IT support worker trying to keep up with technological changes. Can't eke a living off of my writing skills - yet!
This entry was posted in Health and wellness, writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

