A desk is a desk


I recently bought myself a new desk.  It fits nicely into my small apartment bedroom. Its acquisition was the result of a lengthy love affair.

During the years of drafting and composing my novel, I would gaze lovingly upon it and its successors at the English Butler store in my area.  For years I could not justify the purchase due to a) the expense; and b) the pre-move downsizing project.  Still, that beautiful wooden structure held a special place in my heart.

My parents had a similar style of desk at the homestead and I recall using it to draw and paint.  I suppose that sentimentality had engrained itself into my mind and affected my decision making process.  There was a time when I thought this English Butler desk would enhance the creative process while writing the novel either by hand drafts or tapping away on various Mac keyboards.

Well, four years later, the novel has been published and I think is a work of art regardless  lacking that beautiful desk.

While on writing retreats and writing workshops, I used many different desks.

Writing retreat desk Writers retreat desk 2009

While on the retreats, I would take walks around the grounds, listening to the birds and encountering sites that could provide fodder for future stories.

Marguerite Centre Grounds Garden 2009

Broken Chair 2009

At times, the communal living room desk in our home or kitchen table would suffice for drafting the novel or recording feelings and events in my journals.  Even the window sill provided a temporary writing surface in the company of the resident felines.

Geneva Tabby Tail on my journal

Cats snoozing in window

Two cats snoozing in window shelf

Years later, my reasons for acquiring this desk have changed.  Yes, I still romanticize about its part in helping me conjure up the next novel or great piece of Canadian writing…

Presently though, it provides a more practical purpose – a private, quiet place to study for professional development.  My experiences from study trips to the local public library were not as quiet as I had expected.  When did people become so rude in libraries?  Why did they put the study cubbies near the front door?  Likely better than beside the children’s section, I suppose.

My dream of becoming a published author has been satisfied and it’s time to move on. Whether or not I have become a successful author will be left up to organic promotion, positive reader feedback and occasionally dipping my toe into the rapidly changing waters of social networking tools.

My new desk - ready for creative and practical activities

On one hand, I think that one can study, write or create regardless of the location.  On the other hand, a familiar, quiet work area can provide a consistent and reliable space for reflection and creation.

This blog post was typed while sitting at the dining room table. Thanks for reading this far.  If you like my writing style, drop by the web site for The Year of the Rabbit.  Today (April 30th)  is the final day for a free Ebook offer.

T

About shewrite63

I am Theresa. I am a Mother and intermittent writer. I published a bittersweet novel under the pen name of Florence T Lyon. I am also a real life survivor, cynic and IT support worker trying to keep up with technological changes. Can't eke a living off of my writing skills - yet!
This entry was posted in Books, Computers and Internet, Entertainment. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A desk is a desk

  1. Pingback: Naps are better when shared with a furry loved-one | Shewrite63

Leave a Reply

