Writing fictional characters and places


It has been over a week since I was distracted by another blogger’s post about using real people as characters in one’s work of fiction – and the risks that come with it.

I can’t find that particular WordPress post but will definitely refer to it once my short-term memory returns or I can find it in my browser history!

What about towns, cities and other locations used in works of fiction? Harper Lee did it with her old home town in To Kill a Mockingbird and Go Set a Watchman.  When using people though, you have to tweak the names and appearances just enough to avoid a slander suit.

I recently returned from a trip to my old home town. It was the inspiration for the small town of Seguin Sound in the Novel.  You can read about it in this other blog entry titled You CAN go home again.

Thanks for dropping by.  If you found this post interesting, give it a Like or submit a comment.  Otherwise, here’s a picture of a cat.

Black cat on human's bed

Mr. Snuggles reclining on his human servant’s bed.

T

About shewrite63

I am Theresa. I am a Mother, Grandmother and intermittent writer. I published a bittersweet novel in 2011 under the pen name of Florence T Lyon. I am also a real life survivor, community volunteer, Archives and Records Management graduate, and long-time IT support worker trying to keep up with technological changes. Can't eke a living off of my writing skills - yet!
This entry was posted in Travel, writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Writing fictional characters and places

  1. Basing characters on real people is always a bit risky. My novel The Blue Pendant is based on real people although they are deceased. But I found even these ‘real’ characters were in fact different as I had blended other characteristics into their character but the main difference was that even though I knew these people in their older lives I didn’t know them as young people so they did become fictitious characters. If we as authors are cautious and cognizant we can blend a little realism with our imagination and hopefully we have realistic fictitious characters..

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.