Childlike regression


During my adolescence, I thought I’d like to write and illustrate children’s books when I grew up.

I also tried my hand at cartoonish characters and comic-like drawings.

Since cats were always present during my childhood, they achieved representation in many of my creations.

pen and ink drawing kitten

Pen and ink kitten circa 1982

When I was a mother of three inquisitive children, I would borrow library books to read to them on a regular basis.  We even had our favourites that reappeared every couple of months.

At one time, long, long ago, I had an idea for a farm-yard picture book.  I didn’t get very far but I enjoyed the process of practising pen and ink stippling, strokes and washes.

BessyMilkCow

Bessy the uncooperative milk cow circa 1982

PigBirdsSquirrelAutum

Contented pig being forewarned about autumn by the foraging, flocking critters circa 1982

RabbitCarrotPatch

The great discovery in the carrot patch circa 1982

cartoon drawing farm dog

Lazy sleepy farm dog and fly

There’s still time to pursue this interest, of course.  You’re never too old but… I may have to wait until I can afford to retire from the paid work.  Plus I’m still growing up 😉

On a serious note, I am revisiting my love of painting after being gifted a mini water colour set for my birthday.  You can view my progress on this Pinterest board. I aim to create two paintings per month. It will be a welcome outlet after that time-lapse photographic experiment in Dundonald Park.

In the meantime, I can also let myself be entertained and amazed by the resident comic artist and illustrator as I watch her techniques improve and her talents flourish. You can appreciate and support her work through this Patreon page.

I can also be happy to support local writers in their creative endeavours.  Here’s one you can help with too.

I hope you liked looking at my drawings and reading this post.  If not, here’s a picture of a cat.

5-Geneva-you-let-go

Miss Geneva Tabby is one of the feline overlords in le petit apartment. She was an inspiration and distraction while I worked on my novel, The Year of the Rabbit.

T

About shewrite63

I am Theresa. I am a Mother, Grandmother and intermittent writer. I published a bittersweet novel in 2011 under the pen name of Florence T Lyon. I am also a real life survivor, community volunteer, Archives and Records Management graduate, and long-time IT support worker trying to keep up with technological changes. Can't eke a living off of my writing skills - yet!
This entry was posted in Books, Hobbies, Pets, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Childlike regression

  1. These are great! I mean it. Bessy, the uncooperative milk cow, made me laugh out loud in sheer joy. I mean it. Please, please move forward with your work. It’s unbelievably good. There’s a quality of goodness in them with just a touch of quirkiness that makes me want to hear their story. I totally understand the problem of having to hang on to the source of “benefits,” but nevertheless do what you can to pursue your artistic dream. It’s good. It’s incredibly good.

  2. These drawings are professional grade. When I saw Bessy, the uncooperative milk cow, I shouted out in sheer joy. How wonderful these drawings are. Each character has a definite sense of character with a bit of quirkiness mixed in that makes me want to know their story. This is really good work. Very good. I totally understand the necessity of hanging on to the source of “benefits” but please stay with this. You have a talent/skill that goes far beyond just hobby.

  3. Pingback: Whimsy of the pen | Deep Blonde Thoughts

  4. Pingback: The bookshop withdrawals | Florence T Lyon

  5. Pingback: Priming the drawing pencil and creative juices | Shewrite63

  6. Pingback: Ideas board | Shewrite63

  7. Pingback: When you were ten | Deep Blonde Thoughts

  8. Pingback: Strokes of finesse in painting a poem | Shewrite63

  9. shewrite63 says:

    Six years later… The acorn doesn’t fall far from the tree – and evolves into something more beautiful. Have a gander at what my artist child has been up to for the past few years. This Mother is so proud. Star Trip Comic : https://www.startripcomic.com/.

    T

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.