Cats and Dogs


The furry roommates were suspicious about my housecleaning efforts last weekend.

Perhaps they were concerned by all the talk of The Year of the Dog.

cats in play structure hidie box

Cats hiding in their room

 

I reassured them that we would not allow a drooling dog live in our home yet I wanted to make preparations for the arrival of the lunar new year and the Year of the Dog on February 16th. I did this by performing a winter cleanup, a ceremonial cleanse according to a local Feng Shui Master’s advice.

In addition to writing things out as a form of therapy, I embrace and respect Feng Shui as the art of living in a clean, harmonious space. It also helps to break up the winter blahs and pull me out of the winter blues.

Illustration for Year of the Dog

Illustration for Year of the Dog by Gisele

If you are familiar with my 2011 novel, you will understand my attraction to the Chinese Zodiac since my Muskoka childhood. Although I did not grow up in the same culture where they use this occasion to honour deities and ancestors, I find the Lunar New Year a good opportunity to cleanse, freshen one’s living space – and head space.

Black cat at iPad on table

Snuggles wants to make sure we have a dog-proof plan

So… how are you celebrating the Lunar New Year?

To learn how my cleansing and reorganizing efforts turned out, you can read the details at my pen name’s blog.

Thanks for dropping by!

T

About shewrite63

I am Theresa. I am a Mother, Grandmother and intermittent writer. I published a bittersweet novel in 2011 under the pen name of Florence T Lyon. I am also a real life survivor, community volunteer, Archives and Records Management graduate, and long-time IT support worker trying to keep up with technological changes. Can't eke a living off of my writing skills - yet!
This entry was posted in cats, Health and wellness, Pets, writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Cats and Dogs

  1. Pingback: Artful winter survival | Deep Blonde Thoughts

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.