Ethics and Choices


I am not a happy user AND IT Support person

Please join my quest to tell software developers like Adobe and Oracle that we don’t like their practice of default choice check boxes for “optional” software downloads.

Software Updates With Default Selection

An optional choice is a CHOICE to be made by the user

Please re-blog if you agree.

As a SharePoint support person, I get annoyed when my users encounter login prompts after following email links to our Intranet sites.  After some troubleshooting, we find out it’s because Chrome has invaded their PCs and become the default browser, pushing out Internet Explorer (our organization’s standard).

Then there’s the annoying Ask Toolbar that takes up more real estate in the browser window.  McAphee?  Is it such a shoddy AV that you have to push it on people now?

In my experience working in IT support, I notice that users don’t always look at the checkboxes when dutifully updating third party software on their assigned computers.  They are only human and in a hurry to get their REAL work done.

I would like to see more people call out Adobe and Oracle for their practice of selecting the check box by default although the USER should make the choice. If it’s a choice, it’s a CHOICE the user should make.  Also, if I have repeatedly told the update manager app that I want to be notified every time there’s an update available, could you make that selection stick?

It’s about choice. Make it a choice and NOT by default. If my users choose to download excess software and it f*cks up their computers, THAT’S a different story.

Thanks for your time.

T

About shewrite63

I am Theresa. I am a Mother, Grandmother and intermittent writer. I published a bittersweet novel in 2011 under the pen name of Florence T Lyon. I am also a real life survivor, community volunteer, Archives and Records Management graduate, and long-time IT support worker trying to keep up with technological changes. Can't eke a living off of my writing skills - yet!
This entry was posted in Computers and Internet, Organizations. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.