Growth and Devolution


I consider myself lucky.

Well, I also believe that you make your own luck with years of hard work.  I also like to attribute my success to aptitude and attitude.

The month of May was a whirlwind, occupied with much-needed vacation time then opportunities to learn and network with IT/IS professionals while in Toronto and Ottawa.

The encounters over the past few weeks demonstrated the professionalism of individuals and organizations in developing better communication, collaboration tools and providing services to their clients.

In my professional and volunteer work, I support the use of technology.  I like to explore and recommend tools that can help to communicate and promote one’s creative work.  Recently though, I have become disheartened and even outraged by revelations of how technology is being abused to cater to the dark side of humanity.

On a related issue, perhaps you have seen others turn a blind eye to the abuse of communication technology like email and browsing by those who insist on sharing “funny” yet disturbing videos and links.  There is a grey area or fine line that some people don’t want to cross in showing disapproval else they’ll be labelled a buzz kill.  I’m not afraid to show my disapproval.  I recently had to inform an induhvidual that I no longer wish to receive or hear his jokes. No longer do I want to allow disturbing images or sounds violating my mind, my psyche.  I also refuse to take risks in opening my computer or network to a potentially malicious program.

A dark side of me wishes that crackers and professional hackers would focus their talents on shutting down sites that cater to violence and evil. There is a lot of misguided talent in this world.

At the risk of sounding naive, I admire those who use their skills for good.

– – –

If you would like a harmless distraction that contains no computers or Internet risks, perhaps you would like to read The Year of the Rabbit, a novel about fate, family and forgiveness.  The story contains a scene of violence though plus you will need to download it to an Ebook reader.  The violent scene is not gratuitously written; it is a comment on how anger become a dangerous emotion – even for the most innocent people. 

 

 

About shewrite63

I am Theresa. I am a Mother, Grandmother and intermittent writer. I published a bittersweet novel in 2011 under the pen name of Florence T Lyon. I am also a real life survivor, community volunteer, Archives and Records Management graduate, and long-time IT support worker trying to keep up with technological changes. Can't eke a living off of my writing skills - yet!
This entry was posted in Computers and Internet, Health and wellness, News and politics, Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.