Weaving thoughts in winter


It’s winter in Canada.  Who knew?

All this snow, wind and cold … it’s what’s expected.   We are thankful in our part of Eastern Ontario that we still have electricity – and the Internet.  My thoughts are with fellow Canadians who have gone without power for many days.

Sunday here was a lovely day to stay inside, to perform glamorous domestic duties, to putter, write and cook.

Snow January 5

 

The kids were okay since they had food, drink and the Internet.  The cats had cabin fever.  They’re indoor cats anyway so I don’t see the problem… 

 

 

3-SnugsWindowSeatJan5

 

While I was comforting Snugs, taking pictures with my new smart phone camera, I got distracted with the afghan blanket that covers his favourite couch.

 

4-WindowSeatAfghanBlanketWeaveJan5

 

I recall crocheting this years ago, for weeks during a long, boring winter.  I was so proud of the end result.

 

Afghan blanket weave pattern

 

I think that crocheting or knitting are similar to the weaving of words in a story or a novel.  Rather than weeks of repetitive weaving and trancelike hooking though, writing a work of fiction can take months or years of creative energy, skill and tears.

It took me four years to draft, write and re-write twelve chapters of The Year of the Rabbit – A Novel About Fate, Family and Forgiveness.  The first print on demand edition came out in April 2011.  The ebook version hopped out soon after in September.

It’s a slow process but we’re getting there with preparing a second edition of the novel adorned with illustrations. It should be out by 2023.

 

YOTR snakeSoon the Year of the Snake and its unaccomplished goals will meander into distant memories.  The Year of the Horse shall soon gallop in – bringing new energy and adventure, perhaps?

YOTR horse

I am holding a young artist captive, forcing her to create Chinese Zodiac illustrations for the second edition in exchange for rent.  I jest, of course. 

If you are interested to learn more about The Year of the Rabbit:  

  • Visit the novel’s domain;
  • Read some excerpts;
  • Read comments from others;
  • Buy a copy of the ebook from Smashwords;
  • Stick around for a few years as we work on the second edition.

Thanks for dropping by.

T

About shewrite63

I am Theresa. I am a Mother, Grandmother and intermittent writer. I published a bittersweet novel in 2011 under the pen name of Florence T Lyon. I am also a real life survivor, community volunteer, Archives and Records Management graduate, and long-time IT support worker trying to keep up with technological changes. Can't eke a living off of my writing skills - yet!
This entry was posted in Books, Health and wellness, Hobbies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.