Short and Sweet Advice for Writers – Embrace Your Dark Side


Thank you, Jamie and NHWN folks for this timely piece of advice. It is liberating in that I have been holding back a research and writing project due to self-inflicted feelings of shame, fear of judgement and rejection. Friends have convinced me that this story could resonate with many others along the way. Tearfully, I thank you.

Live to Write - Write to Live

charging knightI once wrote a post called Get Mad: Marketing from Your Dark Side. I’ve mentioned it before briefly in the context of Terry Pratchett’s passing, but I’d like to come back to it again because I recently read two blog posts that touched on how artists use their personal fears, conflicts, and even tragedies to infuse their art with passion that resonates far beyond their own experience.

In my original post about marketing, I talked about how a strong brand is defined as much by what it stands against as what it stands for:

Without an opposing force, a hero is just a person who is going through the motions.

Without an opposing force, there is no fire in the hero’s soul. There is no sense of greater purpose, no fierce commitment, no do-or-die mission.

Without an opposing force, we never get to see what the hero can…

View original post 600 more words

About shewrite63

I am Theresa. I am a Mother and intermittent writer. I published a bittersweet novel under the pen name of Florence T Lyon. I am also a real life survivor, cynic and IT support worker trying to keep up with technological changes. Can't eke a living off of my writing skills - yet!
This entry was posted in Health and wellness, writing. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Short and Sweet Advice for Writers – Embrace Your Dark Side

  1. Suddenly Jamie (@suddenlyjamie) says:

    Hi, Theresa. Thanks so much for sharing my post.
    Though I don’t know the details of the story you’re talking about writing, I sense from what you’ve said that it’s something very personal and painful. Tackling those kinds of stories can be so scary for all the reasons you’ve mentioned, but those stories can also be the most cathartic to write and have the potential to touch other people’s lives deeply. No matter the end result, if you have a story you want to tell, you should tell it. Focus on the process, not the outcome. You may want to take a look at the book I recommended in today’s “Friday Fun” post: If You Want to Write by Brenda Ueland. Wonderful, wonderful book: https://nhwn.wordpress.com/2015/08/07/friday-fun-what-one-book-would-you-recommend/

    • shewrite63 says:

      Thanks, Jamie. Yes, I was referring to something deep and personal (not dark and scary as in a horror story). The process of writing has been very therapeutic over the years with dealing with issues and with indirectly referring to related themes in a work of fiction. A new writing, research project is helping me through a process that is also aiming towards a very hopeful outcome. Thank you for engaging and for the book recommendation.

Leave a Reply

