A sad farewell


We lost a member of the family this week.

Mr. Snuggles had become very sick the past few months and we had to make a decision about his quality of life.

Snuggles the cat 2002 to 2019 RIP cuddle buddy

I think the recent heatwave and humidity did him in. It almost did ME in. His kidney condition was getting worse; he became very dehydrated and limp.

First appointment I could get at the Vet’s office the next morning, I took him in. They provided treatment to keep him comfortable but we all agreed I had to make “the decision”.

They brought us to a quiet room to wait. I signed the papers and paid in advance. They gave me five minutes to say farewell to Snuggles. He looked awful and wouldn’t make eye contact with me. When they came in to perform the final step, I decided that I could not stay. I tearfully said goodbye to my little buddy, thanked the Vet and left him in their caring hands.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I must admit that I sleep better now and don’t have someone pre-empting my Zen Alarm clock in the mornings. I miss my bedtime cuddle buddy, my Cat on Lap motivator. I don’t miss the interrupted sleep and random messes.

It also appears that Miss Geneva Tabby doesn’t seem to miss him. I think she just tolerated his presence. She’s still our princess and Alpha cat after all those years.

Thanks for dropping by.

T

About shewrite63

I am Theresa. I am a Mother, Grandmother and intermittent writer. I published a bittersweet novel in 2011 under the pen name of Florence T Lyon. I am also a real life survivor, community volunteer, Archives and Records Management graduate, and long-time IT support worker trying to keep up with technological changes. Can't eke a living off of my writing skills - yet!
This entry was posted in cats, Health and wellness, Pets and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A sad farewell

  1. I’m so sorry for your loss! Sending hugs.

  2. shewrite63 says:

    Yesterday I received a condolences card in the mail from the Vet’s office, handwritten by the attending Doctor. Touching. Nice.

  3. Pingback: Going to extremes | Deep Blonde Thoughts

  4. Pingback: Cat psychology | Shewrite63

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.