Another urban park – Piazza Dante


Same day, different park.

This may become a trend during my vacation, to visit as many urban parks around Ottawa as I can in one week.  Well, maybe not.  

After my lunch date and photographic tour of Dundonald Park on Monday, I walked many city blocks to another.  I had wanted to visit Piazza Dante due to passing by during the morning commute.  The bust of Dante Alighieri visible from Gladstone Avenue had me intrigued for months.

Piazza Dante Park Sculpture

Piazza Dante Park Sculpture

The clouds were starting to gather as I darkened the Booth Street entrance to Piazza Dante.  I was expecting a wee adventure into Dante’s nine circles of hell, the divine comedy.  A small melodic and sentimental portion of my brain hummed Dante’s Prayer by Loreena McKennitt.

Piazza Dante Park Entrance

Piazza Dante Park Booth Street Entrance

1PiazzaDanteParkEntrance2 1PiazzaDanteParkEntrance3

I stood in front of a war monument and took time to reflect.

Piazza Dante Park War Monument

Piazza Dante Park War Monument

I was intrigued by the plaque, the organization logo and the stately bird.

Piazza Dante Park War Monument plaque and bird

Piazza Dante Park War Monument plaque and bird

Piazza Dante Park War Monument bird

Piazza Dante Park War Monument bird

Next I visited the Memorial Wall, a commemoration to the Italian Canadians who showed their loyalty or who were unfortunate enough to be interned during the Second World War.

Piazza Dante Park Memorial Wall

Piazza Dante Park Memorial Wall

3PiazzaDanteParkMemorialWall2

 

Apparently, prior to the 2011 renovations, there used to be a fountain in the centre of the former park. I think they had problems with people swimming in it?

Next, I sat on one of the benches and enjoyed the scenery.  I was the only visitor in the park.

Piazza Dante Park Bench

Piazza Dante Park Bench

 

Soon the clouds thickened even more.  I decided it was time to leave, to catch my first of two buses home before any rain started falling.  If anything, I was a bit disappointed there was no deeper, symbolic reference to Dante for this park.

Piazza Dante Park Sculpture

Piazza Dante Park Sculpture

5PiazzaDanteParkSculpture1close

At least my curiosity was satisfied in visiting the park and capturing some images, some creative inspiration, some solitude and community memories.  It is interesting what other images one can also discover when searching Google images for Piazza Dante Ottawa.

7PiazzaDanteParkExitPostCiao

Piazza Dante Park Exit – Ciao!

 

Piazza Dante Park Exit Posts

Piazza Dante Park Exit Posts

 

 

Ciao!

Thanks for dropping by.

T

 

About shewrite63

I am Theresa. I am a Mother, Grandmother and intermittent writer. I published a bittersweet novel in 2011 under the pen name of Florence T Lyon. I am also a real life survivor, community volunteer, Archives and Records Management graduate, and long-time IT support worker trying to keep up with technological changes. Can't eke a living off of my writing skills - yet!
This entry was posted in Hobbies, News and politics, Organizations and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Another urban park – Piazza Dante

  1. Pingback: A trio of city parks in one day | Shewrite63

  2. Pingback: 1 park bench, 2 trees, 4 seasons | Deep Blonde Thoughts

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.