Wearing hats and herding cats


owa theme purple cat herding cats In my paid work, I encounter a variety of learning opportunities. In addition to other responsibilities and professional growth areas , I get to evaluate and recommend software or services that support business needs.  Don’t tell anyone but it’s a very sweet arrangement.

One project this summer is to upgrade the email service.  Well, I’m personally not installing servers, tweaking system settings and other nuts and bolts of things.  I am though coordinating efforts from a distance, chasing down technical resources, testing new features, luring in volunteers (bwah-ha-ha-ha!) and working around the vacation schedules of all involved.

Email Upgrade Comic Retro IT Lady

If this goes as planned, I will also have gained some Project hours to tuck under my belt.

Herding Cats OWA collage pictures and texthttp://www.microsoft.com/exchange/en-us/outlook-web-app.aspx

Just as we’re oohing and ahhing at the new features, we’re also catching our breath on the technology upgrade hamster wheel.  Then … Microsoft comes along to announce that it’s replacing Hotmail with Outlook webmail.  WTF?!

http://www.cbc.ca/news/technology/story/2012/08/01/tech-hotmail-outlook-revamp.html

We’re approaching the end of the product life cycle for some software and preparing for the next upgrade project for one in particular.  Then there’s all this talk about cloud computing.   As a respected mentor once offered reassuringly, “It’s a job for life.”   As I flop on the floor in submission with 8 lives left, I grumble, purr then concur that working with computers and Internet technology supports my family with shelter, food and copious amounts of catnip.

Thanks for dropping by … and not waking the kitteh. 

T

About shewrite63

I am Theresa. I am a Mother, Grandmother and intermittent writer. I published a bittersweet novel in 2011 under the pen name of Florence T Lyon. I am also a real life survivor, community volunteer, Archives and Records Management graduate, and long-time IT support worker trying to keep up with technological changes. Can't eke a living off of my writing skills - yet!
This entry was posted in Computers and Internet, Health and wellness. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Wearing hats and herding cats

  1. Great stuff, Theresa. Love your grasp of technology, whimsicality and cats. In nine lives, maybe I could begin to grasp this too

  2. shewrite63 says:

    Glad you liked it!
    T

  3. Pingback: Favourite firsts and lasts | Shewrite63

  4. Pingback: Re-Discovering SharePoint | Shewrite63

  5. Pingback: Surviving the stinky summer | Shewrite63

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.